top of page
  • Wesson News

Three Additional Counties Now Eligible for Federal Public Assistance

Governor Tate Reeves’s request for federal public assistance for FEMA disaster 4538 has been approved. Marion, Issaquena and Sharkey counties are now eligible for  public assistance following the February 10-18, 2020 Pearl River flood event and severe weather.

The following counties are a part of the disaster declaration: Attala, Carroll, Claiborne, Clay, Copiah, Grenada, Hinds, Holmes, Leflore, Warren, Wilkinson and Yazoo.

The purpose of the Public Assistance (PA) Grant Program is to support communities’ recovery from major disasters by providing them with grant assistance for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures, and restoring public infrastructure. Local governments, states, tribes, territories and certain private nonprofit organizations are eligible to apply.



bottom of page