top of page
  • Wesson News

New Co-Lin Foundation board members

New Co-Lin Foundation board members
The Co-Lin Foundation welcomes new board members: (from left) Andrew Calvit, Scott Christensen, Morgan Poore, Tammy Torrey, Stacy Fells, Susan Berry and Shannon Aker.

The Co-Lin Foundation elected seven new members to its board: Shannon Aker, Susan Buckley Berry, Andrew Calvit, Scott Christensen, Stacy Fells, Jr., Morgan Halford Poore and Tammy Underwood Torrey.

  • Shannon Aker of Brookhaven is a 1984 graduate of the University of Mississippi, where he received a degree in radio and television journalism. He currently is the president of Bank of Brookhaven. Aker is the chairman of the Industrial Development Foundation and the Lincoln County Fellowship of Christian Athletes board, a deacon of First Baptist Church-Brookhaven and a member of the Brookhaven-Lincoln County Chamber of Commerce board, the Brookhaven Tourism Council board and the Brookhaven Servitium Club. He and his wife, Robyn, have two children --Allison McCaffrey and Leslie Franciskato.

  • Susan Buckley Berry of New Hebron is a 1967 Co-Lin graduate, where she received an Associate’s Degree in home economics, and she is a 1969 graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi, where she received a Bachelor of Science in home economics and science. Before retirement, she was a teacher at New Hebron Attendance Center and Simpson Academy. Berry is a Women’s Club officer, Student Council sponsor, former Sunday school teacher, 4-H advisor, former president and secretary of the Co-Lin Alumni Association, and a library board member. She and her husband, Mims, have four children --Trey Berry, Andy Berry, Suzanne Berry Williams and Ryan Berry.

  • Andrew Calvit of Natchez received an Associate’s Degree from Co-Lin Natchez, a Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Southern Mississippi --Natchez and a Master of Business Administration from Alcorn State University. He is retired after a long career at Atmos Energy. Calvit received Outstanding Soldier of the Quarter while in the U.S. Army, and he was named an Unsung Hero. He is a long-time member of the Natchez Rotary Club, which recently honored him by establishing a scholarship at Co-Lin in his honor. He is also a board member for Merit Health Natchez. He returns to the Foundation board after previously serving as a member for 18 years. He and his late wife have two children: Felecia Lyles and Andrea Denise Calvit.

  • Scott Christensen of Brookhaven received a Bachelor of Arts and Sciences from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, completed postgraduate studies in health services administration at Xavier University and received a Master of Business Administration from Delta State University. He is currently the Chief Executive Officer of King’s Daughters Medical Center. Christensen is the chairman of the Mississippi Hospital Association, a past chairman of the MHA Medicaid Advisory Committee, a fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives, and a past member of the American Hospital Association Regional Policy Board. He was named a Community Legend by the Mississippi Association of Supervisors. He received the Mississippi CEO award from the Mississippi Business Journal, and he is a co-author of Change for the Delta: A Process for Strategic Planning in a Challenging Market, written for the Healthcare Financial Management Association. He and his wife, Melia, have three children: Marianna, 9, Martin, 6, and Makenna, 5.

· .

  • Stacy Fells, Jr of Brookhaven is a 2005 graduate of Co-Lin, a 2014 graduate of Alcorn State University, where he received a Bachelor’s Degree in interdisciplinary studies and a 2017 graduate of Walden University, where he received a Master’s Degree in higher education administration with an emphasis in leadership for student success. He currently works as workforce navigator for Co-Lin. Fells received the Malinda Clark “Power of the 8” Memorial Award from Region 8. He is the founder/president of the Southern Wildcats Youth Travel Football team, and he is a Lincoln Civic Center Dixie Youth Baseball committee member. He and his wife, Monica, have four children: Jai’Juan, 16, Lee’Land, 12, Grason, 8, and Jaxson, 8.

  • Morgan Halford Poore of Meadville is a 2009 graduate of Co-Lin. She received a Bachelor of Science in accounting from Mississippi State University in 2011 and a Juris Doctor from the University of Mississippi School of Law in 2013. She currently works as an associate attorney at Halford Law Firm and serves as Franklin County board attorney and Roxie municipal board attorney. Poore is a member of Mississippi Bar Board of Commissioners, a lay member to the Annual Conference for Meadville United Methodist Church, board attorney for Bude Community Foundation, Franklin County Chamber of Commerce board member, ACT Work Ready Communities county leader, Meadville/Franklin County Lions Club member, American Legion Auxiliary member and a youth leader for Meadville United Methodist Church. She and her husband, Dain, have one child: Dani, 2.

  • Tammy Underwood Torrey of Meadville is a 1980 graduate of Co-Lin, and received a Bachelor of Business Administration from Delta State University in 1982. She currently works as Vice President of Operations at Franklin Telephone Co., Inc. Torrey is a Certified Public Accountant and Certified Management Accountant. S he was honored as Co-Lin Alumna of the Year in 2014 and is a member of the Co-Lin Foundation Hall of Fame. She received the Mid-South Chapter of Independent Telephone Pioneers Wade H. Creekmore Sr. Award of Excellence 2022. She also serves as treasurer for the Brookhaven Animal Rescue League and the Southwest Mississippi Chess Foundation. She returns to the board after previously serving as a member for 18 years. She was married to the late James A. Torrey, Jr, and she has six dear pets: Sally, Pete, Lilly, Coal, Alex and Harris.

“I am excited to add these new members to our board,” Angela Furr, executive director of the Co-Lin Foundation, said. “Each one brings a unique skillset and network to the table that I look forward to utilizing in our efforts to support the college.”

The Co-Lin Foundation is a 501©(3) nonprofit organization which serves as the fundraising arm of the college. The Foundation is governed by a 25-member board of directors whose goal is to raise private monies to support the mission of the college.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page